Artist Focus: Ching Weng

我備感榮幸可以為這位禪繞畫認證教師同時也是藝術家的Ching Weng(白雪老師)寫一個專題。她來自台灣,我覺得在不同語言中要一起努力合作是很有趣也富挑戰性的。我們都是用Google翻譯來溝通,雖然常常翻譯不精準,我們還是試圖用這個方法一起合作完成這篇文章。
以下是這位亞裔藝術家Ching Weng(白雪)用她的語言-中文,翻譯給使用中文的人們閱讀的,包含他的家人、朋友與粉絲們。在中文文章的下方,是我用英文撰寫的文章給所有Ching Weng(白雪)在英語世界的粉絲與朋友們閱讀。(希望也有一點我的粉絲)
我當一位翻譯者已經許多年。當然,其中不包括中文 ! 對我來說能夠用這種方式跨越文化跟語言的隔閡真的十分有趣。
這裡有翻譯的按鈕可以給讀者直接點擊,但是基於我想要能妥當的傳達在這次合作中的文化多元性,我希望讓白雪老師親自用他的母語來撰寫翻譯中文版本。再者,儘管距離很遠,但是在心靈上和冥想作畫以及畫禪繞圖樣的方式也會是大家所能共享的一個經驗。也許這些文化與地區的不同就是所有禪繞畫愛好者最大的共通點。

I am incredibly honored to focus this week on Certified Zentangle Teacher, and artist Ching Weng (Snow).  She is in Taiwan and it has been especially fun and challenging working between languages! We are using Google Translate to communicate and while it isn’t perfect, we’ve still managed to come up with a post by working together. Below is Asian Artist Ching Weng(snow)’s translation in her language for her friends, family and fans! Following the Chinese post, is my English translation for her English speaking friends and fans (and hopefully a few of mine)! I’ve been a translator/interpreter for many years! Not in Chinese of course! This is so fun for me to cross language and cultural borders in this way! I have a translation button here for people to use but I felt to adequately convey the vast cultural diversity in this case, I wanted Ching Weng to have the chance to have this in her language first! More telling, perhaps, than the differences are the similarities between tanglers, despite the vast distances, in spirit as well as in the shared experience of meditative drawing and the Zentangle ® Method.

CZT, Ching Weng in Taiwan

白雪的禪繞寶石作品是我看到過最可愛的寶石設置!她精確的線條和細膩的優雅帶給了大家一場視覺盛宴!她是一個不可思議的藝術家,我愛她表達的言語和想法。這是藝術家和禪繞認證教師 Ching Weng(白雪)談到禪繞畫,藝術和她的生活!

These are some of the loveliest gem settings I’ve seen drawn! Her precise lines and delicate, graceful figures attract the eye to a visual feast! She is an incredible artist and I love how expressive are her words and thoughts. Here’s what artist Ching Weng (Snow) says about Zentangle, art, and her life!

我非常高興和榮幸能成為你藝術家專輯的焦點人物。

我一年前開始學習禪繞畫,禪繞畫改變了我的思想和生活,也使我更有自信,我在去年年底成為禪繞認證教師(CZT Asia#1),現在致力於禪繞畫延伸藝術(ZIA )的創作與教學,特別是畫禪繞寶石,這是我想專研的藝術領域,希望你們能喜歡我的作品。

“I am very happy and honored to be your artist focus.

I started learning Zentangle over a year ago. Zentangle painted my mind and life, and made me more confident. At the end of last year, I became a Certified Zentangle Teacher (CZT Asia #1). I am now committed to creating Zentangle Inspired Art (ZIA) and teaching. I especially like creating Zengems, which is the art field I want to study. I hope that you will like my work.

嗨!我是Ching Weng(白雪),住在台灣,是一位高中老師和禪繞認證教師(CZT),熱愛文學與藝術,從小就很喜歡塗鴉,但是從來沒有接受過美術的訓練,後來因為升學考試的壓力,讓我放下了畫筆,也停止了藝術創作,甚至遺忘了畫畫時的平靜與美好。

I am living in Taiwan, and I am a high school teacher and a Certified Zentangle Teacher (CZT). I love literature and art. In childhood I liked free hand drawing but never received formal art training. Because of the pressure of an entrance exam, I put down the pens and pencils, but also stopped creating art completely, even forgetting that art can be calming and beautiful.

直到2016年的5月,我任教的學校舉辦了一場Zentangle初階研習,當時的我對Zentangle 不了解也沒有興趣,但是因為我14歲的女兒想參加這個研習,我就陪她一起上課了,經過了四個小時,我對Zentangle深深著迷,愛上了畫畫時專注而放鬆的感覺。之後我每天都會抽空畫畫,我的女兒也不斷給予我鼓勵,還建議我設立FB的粉絲專頁,讓我透過分享作品而得到更多成就感和創作的動力。


In May 2016, I taught at a school that held a beginning Zentangle class. At that time, I did not understand Zentangle and was not interested, but because my 14-year-old daughter wanted to participate in this course, I accompanied her to the class. After four hours, I was deeply fascinated by Zentangle, and fell in love with drawing and focusing on the feeling of relaxation. After that, I took the time to draw every day. My daughter also continued to encourage me, but suggested that I set up a Facebook fan page that lets me share my work and gives me more of a sense of accomplishment and motivation.

 

      從此我的創作能量又被重新啟動,並源源不絕,因為創作和分享讓我變得更有自信,生活也更豐富充實。

Since then my creative energy has been restored, and is endless. Creating and sharing my art allows me to be more confident, as well as enriching my life.

Shih Misha是我在禪繞延伸藝術(ZIA)上的啟蒙老師,她的作品和為人都很有個人風格,她曾經跟我說:「如果你想成為一位傑出的禪繞藝術家,就要保有自己的風格和特色,不要盲從,也不要隨波逐流。」這番話對我影響很深,也讓我更清楚自己的路要怎麼去走。

https://m.facebook.com/groups/1645269925730856

And instgram: shihmisha

CZT, Shih Misha is the teacher who inspired me to start creating Zentangle Inspired Art. She focuses on ZIA (Zentangle Inspired Art) creation as well. Her art and demeanor have a bold personal style.  She told me, “If you want to be an outstanding artist, focus on your own style and characteristics, do not follow blindly like sheep, do not follow the crowd.” These words affected me deeply, let me know how to go my own way.

在我的創作歷程中,我最喜歡畫禪陀羅(Zendala)和禪繞寶石(Zengem)。我喜歡禪陀羅的均衡美,而寶石和禪繞圖樣結合之後,會顯得更有生命力,因此我的作品中,大部分都會出現寶石。許多人稱讚我的寶石畫得很逼真,其實這是不斷練習而成的,我至今已經畫了超過300顆寶石,只要你有熱情並且能堅持下去,一定能畫得跟我一樣好,甚至更好。 

In my art career, I like Zendalas and Zengems. I am obsessed with the balanced beauty of the zendala. After combining Zendalas and Zengems, the combination is even more beautiful. So in most of my work, gems will appear. Many people have praised my gems as being very vivid. In fact, this is from constantly practicing. I have already painted more than 300 gems! As long as you have the enthusiasm and can stick to it, you will be able to draw as well as me, and maybe even better! It is good.

不為自己設限,就能創造無限的可能,將心動化為行動,就能看到人生的另一片風景。


Without placing restrictions upon yourself, you have the potential to do anything. Actions speak louder than words, and if you put what’s in your mind into practice, you can know this world from a totally different perspective.





感謝Cyndee Pelley的賞識,讓我可以在這裡和大家分享我的故事,如果你們喜歡我的作品,歡迎到我的粉專和IG看看。 ”

Thanks to Cyndee Pelley’s appreciation so that I can share my story here with you. If you like my work, you’re welcome to visit my Facebook and Instagram to see.”

Facebook Fan Page: https://m.facebook.com/Snow.creationpack/

or my Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/zendala.snow/

Author’s Note:

Author: Ching Weng (Snow)

Author : Cyndee Pelley (Thetirelesstangler.com)

Translator extraordinaire: Simon Hsieh

這個專題是從一篇小文章開始的。我原本完全沒料想到要完成這項任務是那麼的艱鉅且耗時,然而Google翻譯軟體於中文翻譯上的謬誤與文意不通使我們的合作更加困難。不過我有幸得到Ching Weng(白雪)的兒子的貼心相助,協助我們在語言的溝通上更為順暢,這意味著我們可以對文章加上一些細微的修改而讓文意更通順、也更貼近中文表達的美感。

This article began as a simple profile. I had NO idea how difficult and time consuming it would be. Google translation and the Chinese language do not work well together! I was very lucky to have Ching Weng (Snow)’s son, Simon Hsieh, volunteer to help with the translation. This meant that we could add subtle nuances and stay closer to the beauty and meaning of the Chinese language and culture.

Thank you to Ching Weng and her son Simon Hsieh for making this a wonderful project!

2 thoughts on “Artist Focus: Ching Weng”

  1. I tried Googl translate before. It is nice to have it to get the bulk of work done, but I suggest to have someone to check its precision. In your translation, the author says 啟動 which means to get start, you use “restore”. Another case, the author say 啓蒙老師 which means the first teacher to get her start, the translation simply said “focusing on”. Just couple examples for your attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “You honor me by taking time to read the article and comment. 4 people assisted with the translation. We started the process in Google but because of the difficulty of the Chinese language and that culturally the “turns of phrase” used by the artist, were so lovely and poetic in meaning (something I have come to admire greatly), that we worked toward keeping the beauty and meaning true, without printing a word for word translation. The artist, Ching Weng wrote the Chinese section, and her son, Simon and I went through each paragraph, answering and asking questions. He discussed the meaning behind his mother’s writing and we discussed each sentence in English. He was a wonderful help even though I needed to explain why I chose specific vocabulary in some situations. English expression is one of my strengths so I tried to retain the poetic feeling and cultural diversity of the words instead of using more literal choices. CZT, Shih Misha was also in agreement with the results. We did go over the examples you used and added a bit more about Shih Misha in that paragraph. The example using. “Restored” We left the same, as the basic meaning is correct (restart or renewal) and the word “restored” sets the tone I’m trying to achieve. I am learning a lot! I was reminded that true translations are nearly impossible unless you have a cultural understanding of both languages.

      I know there are mistakes and I appreciate you letting me know! Thanks you!

      “你很榮幸我花時間閱讀文章和評論,4人協助翻譯,我們在Google開始了這個過程,但由於中文的困難,文化上是藝術家使用的”短語“我的意思是(我曾經很佩服的東西)非常可愛和詩意,我們致力於保持美麗和意義的真實性,沒有打印字詞翻譯,藝術家清翁寫了中文部分和她的兒子,西蒙和我經歷了每一段,回答和提問,他討論了母親寫作的意思,我們用英語討論了每一句話,儘管我需要解釋為什麼在某些情況下選擇了具體的詞彙,但他是一個很好的幫助。表達是我的優勢之一,所以我試圖保留這些詞語的詩意和文化多樣性,而不是使用更多的字面意思,CZT,Shih Misha也與結果一致,我們去了在你使用的例子中,在該段中添加了更多關於Shih Misha的例子。示例使用。 “恢復”我們離開了,因為基本的意義是正確的(重新啟動或更新),而“恢復”一詞設定了我要實現的語調。我正在學習很多!我被提醒,真正的翻譯幾乎是不可能的,除非你對這兩種語言有文化認識。

      我知道有錯誤,我感謝你讓我知道!謝謝!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply